Holiday Gift Blitz! Peppermint Bark

20 Dec

When I was a kid, I got so excited by the thought of *white* chocolate at Christmastime! I sort of felt like a little freak, because I loved it better than milk chocolate and it seemed no one else did. I’ve finally made my own peppermint bark, and it’s the easiest thing to make. EVER. And delicious.

Ingredients:

1/2 cup crushed peppermints

1 lb. white chocolate (bar, chips, etc.)

Grab two handfuls of peppermints or candy canes, dump them into a plastic bag, pick up a hammer or heavy object (I used a meat tenderizer) and whack the candy until it’s in little pieces:

 

Next, melt the chocolate in the microwave (1 minute on high, stir, then heat for another minute.) Stir in peppermints:

 

Line a baking sheet with a layer of parchment paper; spread the chocolate-peppermint mixture evenly. Refrigerate for 30 minutes; break into pieces and put into lovely gift bags. Viola!

3 Responses to “Holiday Gift Blitz! Peppermint Bark”

  1. Rebecca December 28, 2010 at 9:18 pm #

    I’m pretty sure Santa’s elves live on this stuff.
    xoxo

  2. Apicius' Apprentice December 28, 2010 at 9:47 pm #

    This looks like it came out beautifully! I like how that combination sounds too 🙂

Trackbacks/Pingbacks

  1. White chocolate brownies! « foodfoolery - February 18, 2011

    […] Feb Ah! I have an intense love for white chocolate, as I’ve mentioned before. And now Smitten kitchen has posted a white chcoclate brownie recipe! Hers are white and dark […]

Leave a Reply

