New Ingredient: Steel Cut Oats

6 Dec

Inspired by this recipe on Apartment Therapy’s website The Kitchn, I tried my own “overnight oatmeal” in the slow cooker. I had never seen steel cut oats until a few days ago–they’re very hard and coarse (and yes, it says “The Golden Spurtle” on the label!?):

I used dried figs and cranberries from Whole Foods and 1/2 cup of half and half, although buttermilk and dried apricots sounds delicious, too. (It did need salt, cinammon, and brown sugar.) My picture looks like a beige mass, but that’s what it really looked like, even though it was very tasty:

2 Responses to “New Ingredient: Steel Cut Oats”

  1. ccwagner December 6, 2010 at 2:46 pm #

    I love steel cut oats! I normally use Alton Brown’s preparation for them but I really want to try the oatmeal in the slow cooker. I think I’m going to break out the oatmeal this week since it’s supposed to be chilly all week.

    • foodfoolery December 21, 2010 at 12:10 am #

      Thanks for the note, and good luck with the blog!

Leave a Reply

