New Ingredient: Barley

6 Dec

 

Okay, so all of these Whole Foods grains have always scared me a little bit, but I need to seriously kick up the fiber. I’ve bought quinoa, pearled barley, farro, and steel cut oats, and I’m determined to make something tasty. 

Tonight I tried cooking with barley for the first time ever, with a mushroom and barley soup from Sheila Lukins.  The recipe is from her cookbook Ten

I boiled the 1/2 cup of the barley with diced carrot (1/2 cup), 8 cups of chicken stock, and a teaspoon of dried tarragon for 30 minutes:

 

Then I sauteed half an onion and two cloves of garlic for 10 minutes, then added a package of shitake mushrooms and a 10 oz. package of button mushrooms, cooking for 10 more minutes. Finally I added salt and pepper, dumped the mushroons into the stock pot, and let it simmer for 20 minutes.

The soup was good with a slight bit of crunch and felt wholesome, but I can’t say it was delicious. I always want the food I eat to really delight me and knock my socks off. The search continues!

One Response to “New Ingredient: Barley”

  1. Mr WordPress December 6, 2010 at 1:19 am #

    Hi, this is a comment.
    To delete a comment, just log in, and view the posts’ comments, there you will have the option to edit or delete them.

Leave a Reply

